Uncategorized

Broken Mirrors

 

 

***

CAST OF CHARACTERS
GABRIEL– A child in love with ANGEL
ANGEL – A mysterious figure that visits GABRIEL at 3:00am every night.

SYNOPSIS

Every night, GABRIEL is visited by a mysterious figure that he has come to call “Angel.” GABRIEL struggles to find a happy place in the life he lives, so he turns to ANGEL, a mysterious girl who visits him every night, to give him the attention and comfort that he desires.

SETTING

A bedroom.

COSTUMES SUGGESTIONS

Pajamas for GABRIEL. “Lyrical”, flowing clothing for ANGEL.

(opposite colours)

PRODUCTION NOTES

The lines are very simple and concise. They are meant to be read slowly and acted intensely. There is meant to be air in a lot of areas. Lines are to be read as realistically as possible. Every time GABRIEL checks his phone, a projection is to be made onto the CYC of the current date and time.

 


 

SCENE 1

 

GABRIEL She comes to visit me every night.

 

ANGEL At 3:00 am.

 

GABRIEL She comes to visit me every night.

 

ANGEL When the moon is bright.

 

GABRIEL She comes to visit me every night.

 

ANGEL From looking-glass land.

 

GABRIEL She takes my hand.

 

BOTH Every night. Night. Gabriel, It’s 3 am.

 

SCENE 2

 

Light snaps onto stage. Gabriel wakes up with a start. A pause. He rubs his eyes, tired.

 

Awww! (annoyed)

 

Where are you…?

 

beat.

 

Last night, I made a new friend! She never told me her name, but I think I’ve figured
one out. I made it up myself. (beat)  “Angel.” I hope she doesn’t mind. I think it fits…I
mean, she’s really nice, and she’s like…really really nice, and like she’s kinda…pretty…I
guess? I don’t know! (beat) She doesn’t talk very much, but I feel like I really
understand her, and I think that she really understands me. I also think we’re
the-same-years-old, but I still have to ask her. Maybe I’ll ask when she comes back
tonight.

 

Beat.

 

I hope she comes back tonight…I kinda like her… (slowly falling asleep)  I hope she
comes back. I do like her. Come back tonight, Angel. Come back…

 

Gabriel is visibly seen falling into a deep sleep.

 

SCENE 3

 

ANGEL It’s 3:00 am.

 

GABRIEL Angel!

 

ANGEL Hi…

 

GABRIEL Angel! Hi–I didn’t think you’d come back! It’s been…You’re so– wow, I–

 

beat.

 

ANGEL Hi. (giggles)

 

GABRIEL Angel…!

 

ANGEL (smiling) How are you?

 

GABRIEL I’m good–  well, actually, I’m great! (beat) You came back!

 

ANGEL I came back. For you.

 

GABRIEL For me? Really? (he laughs shyly) Did you miss me? I mean–wait I–

 

ANGEL I kinda like you, Gabriel.

 

GABRIEL Really? (beat) Angel, I kinda…I really like you too… You’re really…nice…

 

Beat.

 

I was actually wondering; maybe, we can play together some time?

 

Beat.

 

Angel? Maybe, we can play together some time?

 

Beat.

 

Angel…?

 

Knocking sound effect.

 

SCENE 4

Light snaps onto stage. Gabriel rubs his eyes, tired.

 

GABRIEL Awww–Ughh (annoyed) Not again!

 

Beat.

 

Momma says that I’ll never find love.

 

Beat.

 

“Don’t even.” She says. “No one will love a monster.” I don’t really know what she
means, but she says it’s something to do with a monster that lives inside. I’ve become
kinda scared of my room. I’ve checked my closet. The drawers. The cupboards. I even
checked underneath my blanket. No monster here.

 

Beat.

 

I think…I think I love her. Angel.

 

Beat.

 

I mean–whaaaat? Love is gross. People hug, then they kiss? Ewww. Never mind. I
don’t love her. I don’t…love her.

 

I just…feel safe. Angel visits me every night. She protects me from everything scary.
She even protects me from…She protects me from…From…Angel, I…Come back…

 

SCENE 5

 

ANGEL It’s 3:00 am.

 

GABRIEL Hi, Angel.

 

ANGEL The moon is bright.

 

GABRIEL Underneath the night sky, the moon…looks beautiful.

 

ANGEL Beneath the cherry blossom tree.

 

BOTH We sit. We talk.

 

GABRIEL You’ve brought me somewhere new.

 

Beat.

Where are we?

 

ANGEL This is a glimpse of my home. The Looking-glass land.

 

GABRIEL Looking-glass land?

 

Beat.

 

It’s beautiful. And a cherry blossom tree.

 

ANGEL Yeah. This is where I live. Alone. I’m kind of locked up, you know?

 

Beat.

 

GABRIEL What do you mean? (beat) You don’t wanna say? That’s okay.

 

ANGEL But at night, I’m free. I leave Looking-glass land. I look for my friend.

 

GABRIEL Me? (nervously) I mean, you probably have other friends too I just–

 

ANGEL Nope. Just you.

 

GABRIEL Oh.

 

Beat.

 

What do you eat here?

 

ANGEL I eat whatever is given to me. Every so often, someone gives me food. But, most times,
I’m starving.

 

GABRIEL Weird. Me too.

 

ANGEL Yeah?

 

GABRIEL I get hungry…

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL Wake up, Gabriel.

 

GABRIEL What?

 

ANGEL Wake up!

 

Beat.

 

Wake up!!

 

Knocking sound effect.

 

SCENE 6

Light snaps onto stage. Gabriel rubs his eyes, tired.

 

GABRIEL Angel…?

 

He takes a sip of water.

 

I’m her only friend!

 

Beat.

 

And, as her only friend, I’ve decided that I’m going to bring her some food. She said
she was starving, but I don’t want to make her ever feel hungry ever again. I wonder
what her favourite food is. She never really said it, but I have a gut feeling that we have
the same favourite. Fried chicken!

 

Gabriel cannot really make fried chicken. He is using his imagination.

 

Mmmm, it smells delicious! I really hope Angel likes it.

 

Beat.

 

I love her. I love her, and I think it’s time that she knows.

 

Beat.

 

It’s time that she…time that she…Angel, I…love…fried…chicken…

 

Gabriel is visibly seen falling into a deep sleep.

 

SCENE 7

 

ANGEL It’s 3:00 am.

 

GABRIEL Hey!

 

ANGEL Hi.

 

GABRIEL Hey /

 

BOTH I brought you a little something!

 

Beat. They laugh.

What did you bring? (they laugh)

ANGEL Fried chicken!

 

GABRIEL That’s so weird! I also brought you fried chicken! I was scared you’d be hungry.

 

ANGEL You know, I had a gut feeling it was your favourite.

 

GABRIEL Huh. (slightly confused)

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL Thank you.

 

GABRIEL Thank you. And, you’re welcome.

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL You’re welcome.

 

Gabriel contemplates on whether or not he should confess his feelings to Angel.

 

GABRIEL Angel, I…There’s something I have to tell you.

 

ANGEL What is it?

 

GABRIEL I think I like you. I mean like…I love you.

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL Gabriel…no.

 

GABRIEL What…?

 

ANGEL No. You can’t.

 

GABRIEL What– what do you mean?

 

ANGEL You can’t love me.

 

GABRIEL Why…? Is it something that I said?

 

ANGEL It’s nothing that you said. It’s just…impossible.

 

GABRIEL What do you mean?

 

ANGEL It’s impossible.

 

GABRIEL But…but, I love–

 

ANGEL Gabriel, I have to go. (panicked)

 

GABRIEL Wait–

 

ANGEL Wake up, Gabriel! Listen: It’s 6:00 am.

 

Beat.

 

It’s 6:00 am.

 

Knocking sound effect.

 

SCENE 8

Light snaps onto stage. Gabriel rubs his eyes, tired.

 

GABRIEL I hate everything!

 

He takes a sip of water.

 

We’re not supposed to fight. We’re friends! Friends aren’t supposed to fight! Right?
Ughhh!

 

Beat.

 

I’m gonna go apologize to her. It’s my fault. I let my feelings get in my head. She’s
just– she’s so– I can’t love her. I mean, I only see her every night, and I don’t even
know her name! So it wouldn’t be right. Right? Ughhh!

 

Beat.

 

I’m sorry, Angel. I hope you can forgive me. I’m…I’m really…I’m so sorry…You
were…you were right…right…

 

SCENE 9

 

ANGEL It’s 3:00 am.

 

GABRIEL Angel…

 

ANGEL The moon is bright.

 

GABRIEL Hey, I’m sorry.

 

beat.

 

Do you forgive me?

 

ANGEL Do you forgive me?

 

GABRIEL (laughs softly) I forgive you.

 

ANGEL I forgive you.

 

GABRIEL Thank you.

 

ANGEL Thank you.

 

beat.

 

…I love you.

 

(A considerably lengthy pause)

 

GABRIEL I love you.

 

Beat.

 

Promise?

 

ANGEL Promise.

 

GABRIEL Okay. (he smiles)

 

beat.

 

The sky…

 

…It’s pink.

 

ANGEL It’s a reflection. A mirror image of the cherry blossom tree.

 

GABRIEL It’s beautiful.

 

ANGEL I mean, it’s Looking-glass land. (beat) It’s always beautiful here.

 

Beat.

 

Come with me.

 

Beat.

 

GABRIEL What?

 

ANGEL Stay with me. Here.

 

beat.

 

GABRIEL Here?

 

ANGEL Live with me. Here. In Looking-glass land.

 

Beat.

 

Will you come with me?

 

GABRIEL I don’t know.

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL Think about it.

 

GABRIEL I’ll /

 

BOTH Think about it.

 

Beat.

 

I love you…

 

Knocking sound effect.

 

SCENE 10

Light snaps onto stage.

 

GABRIEL I love you. You said it, Angel…

 

Beat.

 

I love you.

 

SCENE 11

 

ANGEL It’s 6:00 am.

 

GABRIEL The moon…it’s…it’s fading.

 

Sounds of heavy footsteps approaching the door. Knocking sound effect. Door opening
sound effect.

 

Gabriel smiles at first, but his expression quickly turns to that of fear.

 

ANGEL He’s coming!

 

GABRIEL Dad…?

 

ANGEL The monster.

 

GABRIEL Dad please stop it! STOP IT!

 

ANGEL Gabriel, just–just close your eyes! Think of me…

 

beat.

 

BOTH STOP!

 

Glass crashing sound effect.

 

SCENE 12

 

Light fades onto stage. Gabriel is crying.

 

GABRIEL He comes to visit me every night.

 

Beat.

 

That monster…

 

SCENE 13

 

ANGEL It’s 3:00am.

 

GABRIEL Angel…

 

ANGEL Gabriel…

 

Beat.

 

It’s ok. I’m here now. Don’t worry. We’ll get through this.

 

GABRIEL No. I can’t. I can’t deal with this anymore. It’s never going to get better!

 

ANGEL Give it some time. We’ll find a way out.

 

GABRIEL We won’t find a way out soon enough. I want to leave now! I can’t do this anymore.

 

ANGEL Gabriel…

 

GABRIEL What if I come with you?

 

ANGEL What?

 

GABRIEL Bring me with you. Bring me to your home.

 

ANGEL Looking-glass land?

 

Beat.

 

It’s broken.

 

GABRIEL What?

 

ANGEL Last night. Your dad. He broke Looking-glass land.

 

beat.

 

GABRIEL But we can still go, right? We can still go?

 

Angel doesn’t say anything, but her eyes give Gabriel the answer he needs.

 

Good.

 

ANGEL Gabriel, no. I won’t let you.

 

GABRIEL Why not?

 

ANGEL You’re going to hurt yourself…

 

GABRIEL I don’t care if it hurts!

 

ANGEL But /

 

GABRIEL I want to feel safe! I want to feel loved! For once in my life, I want to be somewhere
where I’m not afraid! So tell me!

 

Beat.

 

Don’t I deserve that..?

 

Beat.

 

Don’t I deserve that..?

 

ANGEL Of course you do.

 

GABRIEL Then take me with you. Take me to Looking-glass land.

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL For you, I will do anything.

 

SCENE 14

 

Light fades onto stage.

 

GABRIEL It hurts so much…

 

The sound of a mirror breaking. The sound of glass being pressed together. The sound of
glass falling onto the floor. A breath.

 

SCENE 15

 

ANGEL Hi.

 

GABRIEL Hey.

 

Beat.

 

You’ve brought me somewhere…familiar.

 

ANGEL You’re in Looking-glass land.

 

Beat.

 

GABRIEL The sky…it’s beautiful.

 

Beat.

 

ANGEL Cherry blossom pink.

 

GABRIEL Where exactly are we? Where’s my home?

 

ANGEL We’re with the clouds. This is your home.

 

GABRIEL The clouds. Up above? Am I…dead?

 

ANGEL You’re with me now. That’s all that matters.

 

Beat.

 

GABRIEL What time is it?

 

ANGEL It’s 9:00 am. It’s a bright new morning.

 

GABRIEL We’re together.

 

ANGEL And we will be, forever. You will never be alone.

 

GABRIEL …We’re together.

 

ANGEL You will never be alone.

 

BOTH Together. I am never alone.

 

Night Sky

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 comments

  1. Ughhhh Jedddddd. I love how you can pour your heart onto a page and a stage, and take us on such magical journeys. This piece is beautiful, and comforting. Thank you for bringing us this art. Truly. Thank you.

    Love,

    Claire

  2. Dear Jed;

    As soon as I opened your blog, I saw a play and got excited. This was very well written overall, and the story was intriguing; you kept me unsure of what might happen in the end. I appreciated the ever-shifting nature of this, as I like to write in this form as well.

    If I were to give criticism, I would caution you on repetitive dialogue; there were quite a few lines that read almost choppy. The ending, I feel, (and this is entirely subjective) could also be lengthened, with a twist, perhaps.

    Overall, this was very well done, and I love that you chose the script format. I am excited to see what you will write in the future; I’m absolutely certain it will be just as impressive.

    – Tony

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>